• Social Rituals

    Hi there! This is my second article. It will deal with the social rituals that I experienced here in Cambridge. I will tell you the most important rituals that I experienced since my arrival.

     

     

    First of all, when I arrived in Cambridge, one of the first things I did was to take an English breakfast. As you may know, British people are known for having huge breakfasts with lots and lots of food. As a matter of fact, it is not rare to find pubs or restaurants offering that kind of breakfast. 

     

    As you can see on these photos, English breakfasts are usually served with eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans or toasts for example. 

     

     

    By walking in the streets, I realized that weather was a very important discussion topic! I often meet some British people. I like to talk to them, asking for a direction or an advice. When noticing that I am not British, they usually start talking about the weather, often apologising for the rain! However, I don’t think that there is so much rain in Cambridge (well, as I am writing this article it is actually raining outside but it is not always like that!).

     

     

     

    http://www.weather-guide.com/city-weather-b/Cambridge-Weather.html

    As you can see on this graph, there are not so many rainy days in Cambridge! At least less than in other coast cities… To be fair, most of the time, the weather is cloudy with some sunny moments.

     

     


    After a few days here, I realized the importance of bikes! I think that there as many bikes as cars and taxis! Riding a bike is the easiest way to go to the city centre because buses have difficulties driving there and it is really hard to find a place where to park a car. Indeed, bikes are the only solution! 

     

    In order to become real Cambridge inhabitants, Alicia, Ophélie and I decided to buy a bike. We bought second hand bikes, knowing that we would easily send them back before we leave England.

     

    Here you can see us striking a pose in front of King’s College chapel.

     

     

    What is the greatest symbol of the UK? Queen Elizabeth II, of course! She represents the UK across the world and has indeed, with all her family, a very special place in the UK people’s heart. By the way, she recently celebrated the 63rd anniversary of her reign (the longest in history!) and her 90th birthday.

     

    There even is a website dedicated to the royal family! It is called www.royal.uk. If you have any query about the UK's Royal Family, this is the website to go! 

     

    One other very important event in Cambridge is the end of exams, celebrated by the most famous colleges such as Trinity College and St John’s College. These two celebrations are the most famous because students organise a real show with fireworks every year. You can see the fireworks from the Cam river, it is a very special show. 

     

     

    Here is a video showing the 2014 firework from Trinity College. Go check it out, even though the video is a bit long the show is awesome! 

     

     

     

    Thank you for reading my article, I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

     

    See you in my next article! 


  • Commentaires

    1
    Mardi 14 Juin 2016 à 20:46

    Hi everyone! I am sorry, I forgot to write the title for this article so here it is: Social Rituals

    Thank you! 

    2
    Lundi 9 Janvier 2023 à 14:57

    Bettilt Yeni ve Güncel Giriş Adresi ile Yatırım Bonusu ve Özel Bonus Kazabilirsiniz. Yeni ve Güncel Adresi ile Hoşgeldin Bonusu Bettilt Sitesinde

     

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :